This is a post that I did on my film making blog – but adapted for here. 

Three cheers. Rhubarb is making a come back. Good news I say. And symbolic of the new world and the challenges facing writers. What? It’s true. Here’s why…After years in decline the rhubarb industry is fighting back. If you doubt what I say (which I recommend on most occasions) then check out the BBC article here. Why is it back? Janet Oldroyd is the fourth generation of a family of rhubarb growers and she says, “…People used to have a really sweet tooth but now we like a bit of sharpness.”That’s it right there. We are all on a fight back against blandness. Stronger flavours. Less middle ground. More differential. Why have parsley when you can have coriander? Why have coffee when you can have espresso?And that, eventually, brings us round to our work and our business proposition. Is it enough? Is our proposition bold? Or is it in that middle ground somewhere, being safe like a kid’s jelly or a custard tart? Of course not everyone likes rhubarb and that’s the payoff – passionate fans over bland middle ground.An example from my own work: I’m meeting up with Dailymotion in a few weeks as they are big supporters of Mr Vista and I think this metaphor works for them. As a concept their website is similar to youtube. But youtube is a granny smiths apple. Their site needs to taste of rhubarb to make it appeal.Think about your own proposition / service / product. Is it designed for today’s tastes? Being ‘world class’, ‘excellent’ – that’s conference pear talk my friends. You need the tang of rhubarb. Get sour.Photo by Dieter Weber used under CC

