Use by date
I was just about to tuck into some fish and chips whilst on holiday recently when I noticed the “use by” date printed on top of the lid.
 
Amazingly it read January 10th 8029.
 
Now I’m not sure if this is some kind of bizarre misprint or if rather freakishly vinegar really does have a life expectancy of 6021 years?? I guess as a product it does indeed pickle itself so that must help in some way!
It got me thinking anyway, which is always a good thing.
 
When we make a product how often do we consider its shelf-life before pushing it out onto an unsuspecting world?
 
Do we really consider the impact of selling a product that is only designed a last a couple of years?
 
What if a product could last too long (like the vinegar), and customers never need to buy from you again?

