A post I read on Seth’s blog this morning got me thinking about how often I say “I don’t know” without thinking about it first. Seth’s point is that there is 2 kinds of “I don’t know”; The genuine kind when you just don’t have the knowledge or the information and the fearful kind when you say “I don’t know” as a knee jerk reaction rather than having a stab at it, getting it only half right and looking foolish.

Sometimes saying “I don’t know” seems easier than having to come up with an answer, but that doesn’t mean it’s the right thing to say.

Who wants to be known as the “I don’t know” guy?

Next time someone asks you a question leave it a beat before answering.  Maybe if you allow your brain to get into gear you’ll discover an appropriate answer coming out of your mouth instead of “I don’t know.”

